We’re singing in the rain!

Amazing how the dynamics of a family change when a Daddy joins the team. And although the kids can’t really express their happiness in words, as a mother I know that the look in their eyes mean they are extremely happy and secure to have their Daddy waking up with them in a foreign city! And imagine how happy I am to have support in managing those little tantrums. With two little ones who struggle to take no for an answer (a bit like Mommy – blush!) believe me, we have several dramatic moments and time out sessions. And now that Spunky turned 3 his time outs are 3 minutes… he’s not impressed!

Having Frank here means we could also give Grace a bit of a break…she is exploring the markets in her free time and bought the most beautiful clothes and shoes! Yesterday after I finished my meetings, she joined me for a foot massage at a Spa around the corner.  I can honestly say that it was the best foot massage I had in a very long time and only about R180 for 60 min session, PLUS it included a back and neck massage while our feet were soaking! You see, here business owners have to offer value for money because are there so many competitors. I have not experienced being overcharged for anything in China! Yes, some things are expensive but that is normally linked to imported stuff. Good bargains and discounts everywhere.

Being here primarily for work, means that we are not pressured to rush to the tourist attractions. Having said that.. we really enjoyed our visit to Jin Li Street on Sunday. Spunky fell in love with a flute shop and we couldn’t get him out of the shop – I think he is going to be the next Justin Bieber, Mimi will be his agent  (bossy attitude). Besides, we might come back to Cape Town with a whole orchestra!

2013-04-27 15.56.49

We find pleasure in doing simple things, like having breakfast together and going for walks to the market after dinner. And during the day when I am working, Frank enjoys playing with the kids, taking them for walks in the area or watching Winnie the Pooh/Disney/Tinkerbell (we have our own little library, DVDs are cheap- about R45 in the shop, R13 on the street).

Talking about simple things…having only a few items from home here, I have realised how complicated we make life with all the “things” around us. I have learned that we actually need very little to survive and still be happy.

So when I opened the curtains this morning, I felt this huge homesick wave splashing all over me! I know, it’s silly because it is not like it rains every day in Cape Town. We even call our winter the “Secret Season”! But how can we not miss home when we do fun things like baking pancake or cooking stew on rainy days back home. I skipped the idea of pancake…too much trouble so we opted for vegetable and beef stew (note the order – could only find two small pieces of beef! – 10x3cm!) for dinner. Best we get used to the rain….apparently we are only expected to see sun next Wednesday! At least it is not cold when it rains, a bit like tropical rain with 23 or 24 deg outside. And I love the sight of umbrellas everywhere. Small ones, big ones, red, green, dots, stripes, love the see through ones! I think Katie Melua should compose another song “Five million umbrellas in Chengdu”

Image

Funny moment of the week:

We want to get deworming syrup for the kids (just to be sure!!), so off I go to the pharmacy tonight with my Google translate in hand so that there could be no misunderstanding….I mean, what if  they think I want to feed my children worms! So the pharmacy assistant walked over to the kids dept, take of the mosquito repellent and say with a smile: “Here it iz!” She could not understand that this is not what I needed, kept on saying “its gut, its gut”. So on my way to the exit, she stops me to ask if she can sell me some body lotion instead. Funny!

One thought on “We’re singing in the rain!

  1. Monika Lösing says:

    Hi Zelda,
    thank you so much for your blog and letting me/us take part in your “Chinese Adventure”! I’m looking forward to your book “Finding yourself (in China)”!! 😉 Continue having a wonderful time!!! Lots of love, Monika from Berlin Sorry! WordPress, Twitter and Facebook are none of my business!

Leave a comment